About the CYNETART Festival

HOT: Link to CYNETART web site 2018

CYNETART is an international festival for computer-aided art in Dresden. The festival has been the focal point of the research at Trans-Media-Akademie (TMA) Hellerau for over fifteen years now. This work has made the festival become a countrywide and internationally recognised platform of digital culture – providing an in-depth overview of current developments of technology-based art.

Since the foundation in 1997 CYNETART has accomplished a lively mix of creative programmers, skilful engineers and innovative sound technicians and media artists from all over the world. With their original ideas they come together in November every year. The event presents current trends in the artistic contention about and application of computer and network technologies.

Every two years the festival is accompanied by the international CYNETART competition. With a total prize money of 28.400 Euro it ranks among Europe’s top awards in the area of media art. An international expert jury chooses the winners of the CYNETART-award from more than 300 submissions and 30 countries. It also awards a sponsorship prize and an artist-in-residence-scholarship funded by the Saxon State Ministry of Science and Art.

CYNETART is a dynamic and energy-driven festival which thrives on the variety of its international artists and visitors. It features the captivating architecture of the exceptional and authentic venue, namely the festival theatre Hellerau and a program rich in contrast. The latter includes performances, exhibitions, lectures and workshops as well as electronic live-concerts – altogether an exciting panorama.

Das CYNETART festival is presented by Trans-Media-Akademie Hellerau e.V. in cooperation with HELLERAU - European Center for the Arts Dresden [hellerau.org]

The festival is funded by Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, the Sächsisches Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Landeshauptstadt Dresden, Amt für Kultur und Denkmalschutz as well as supported by further partners and sponsors.

List of former award winners
web site 2018
web site 2017
extra web site 2016
one page web 2015
micro web site 2014
sub web site 2013