»Walls are Tumbling Down«


WallsAreTumblingDown
Photo: Eunice Martins by Doris Schmid; self-portrait, installation design and compilation by Ibrahim Quraishi; score Eunice Martins & Ibrahim Quraishi ©2024

Composition and performance of a cantata for Shofaroth, Mazamir, voices and electronics

Genre: New Music

Project participants: Ibrahim Quraishi, Eunice Martins

Events:
18.11.2024 public dress rehearsal, Monday Café of the Staatsschauspiel Dresden
25.11.2024 public performance, Kleines Haus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden

"Walls are Tumbling Down"

As artists with a Jewish-Muslim-atheist background, Ibrahim Quraishi and Eunice Martins have been commissioned to compose and revitalize the form of the cantata in order to build a bridge between the Islamic tradition of forgiveness and the older Jewish tradition of non-violent revenge. People from the Jewish and Islamic communities as well as atheists in Dresden will be specifically addressed in order to bring together women, men and non-binary people as well as atheists and theists in an ensemble. By means of public rehearsals and a performance in the urban space of Dresden Neustadt, the new composition and the project creates spaces of encounter, of togetherness and expresses our connection with instruments and voices.

25.11.2025 - public premiere, Kleines Haus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden

"Walls are Tumbling Down" is a project by Ibrahim Quraishi and Eunice Martins and is realized in cooperation with the Montagscafé of the Staatsschauspiel Dresden, the Dresden Synagogal Choir Association, the PRPGND Fundacja Propaganda Warsaw, the C. Rockefeller Center for the contemporary Arts Dresden, the CYNETART platform as well as the Netzwerk | Medien | Kunst Dresden and art.revolution (Nicole Meier and Ariane Thalheim).

"Walls are Tumbling Down" is supported by the Musikfonds and the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, as well as the Ministries of Culture and Art of the federal states, and with funds from the City of Dresden, Office for Culture and Monument Protection.

»Walls are Tumbling Down«


WallsAreTumblingDown
Foto: Eunice Martins von Doris Schmid; SelbstportrĂ€t, Installationsentwurf und Kompilation von Ibrahim Quraishi; Partitur Eunice Martins & Ibrahim Quraishi ©2024

Komposition und AuffĂŒhrung einer Kantate fĂŒr Schofaroth, Mazamir, Stimmen und Elektronik

Genre: Neue Musik

Projektbeteiligte: Ibrahim Quraishi, Eunice Martins

Veranstaltungen:
18.11.2024 öffentliche Generalprobe, Montagscafé des Staatsschauspiel Dresden
25.11.2024 öffentliche AuffĂŒhrung, Kleines Haus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden

»Walls are Tumbling Down«

Als KĂŒnstler*innen mit jĂŒdisch-muslimisch-atheistischen Hintergrund sind Ibrahim Quraishi und Eunice Martins mit der Komposition und Neu-Belebung der Form der Kantate beauftragt, um eine BrĂŒcke zwischen der islamischen Tradition der Vergebung und der Ă€lteren jĂŒdischen Tradition der gewaltfreien Rache zu schlagen. Gezielt werden Menschen aus den jĂŒdischen und islamischen Gemeinden aber auch Atheisten in Dresden angesprochen, um Frauen, MĂ€nner und Nicht-BinĂ€re sowie Atheist*- und Theist*innen in einem Ensemble zusammenzubringen. Mittels öffentlicher Proben und einer AuffĂŒhrung im urbanen Raum der Dresdner Neustadt, schafft die Neu-Komposition und das Projekt RĂ€ume der Begegnung, der Zusammengehörigkeit und bringt unsere Verbundenheit mit Instrumenten und Stimmen zum Ausdruck.

25.11.2025 - öffentliche UrauffĂŒhrung, Kleines Haus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden

»Walls are Tumbling Down« ist ein Projekt von Ibrahim Quraishi und Eunice Martins und wird in Kooperation mit dem Montagscafé des Staatsschauspiel Dresden, dem Verein Dresdener Synagogalchor, der Stiftung PRPGND Fundacja Propaganda Warschau, dem C. Rockefeller Center for the contemporary Arts Dresden, der CYNETART Plattform sowie dem Netzwerk | Medien | Kunst Dresden und art.revolution (Nicole Meier und Ariane Thalheim) umgesetzt.

»Walls are Tumbling Down« wird gefördert durch den Musikfonds und der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung fĂŒr Kultur und Medien, sowie den Kultur- und Kunstministerien der LĂ€nder, sowie aus Mitteln der Landeshauptstadt Dresden, Amt fĂŒr Kultur und Denkmalschutz.